Northwest Women’s Hall of Fame

Applaud the exceptional contributions of 2013 honorees:

Legacy Awardee Sister Brigid Collins, CSJP, (1918-1990) St. Joseph’s Hospital administrator and social worker whose dedication to the health of women and children inspires us today.

Melinda Shenk, founder of Marianne’s House that bears the name of her late sister, Marianne Barden. A day activity center, it enriches the lives of adults with developmental disabilities.

Cyndie Shepard, volunteer director of Compass 2 Campus that introduces middle school students to higher education and provides WWU student mentors for them through 12th grade.

Vi Zurline, a successful businesswoman in the 1960s. She became a model and coach for emerging women entrepreneurs and a longtime supporter of women’s athletics.

These honorees join 53 contemporary Whatcom County women and 11 from the late 19th and early 20th centuries who have been inducted into the Northwest Women’s Hall since it was founded a decade and a half ago. See a complete list of honorees in the NW Women’s Hall archives page.

Nominations can be made throughout the year and are retained for three years. If you know a woman who has made a lasting impact on the community, been a role model for women and girls, and demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities, see the nomination form.

The NW Hall Steering Committee is an independent volunteer organization operating under the umbrella of the YWCA. Its sole mission is to recognize women who continue the legacy of community service that has marked the YWCA of Bellingham for 105 years.